Review: Don’t Get Me Wrong by Marianne Kavanagh

Posted August 21, 2015 by Katrina @ Bookish Things in Book Review / 0 Comments

I received this book for free from Publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Review: Don’t Get Me Wrong by Marianne KavanaghDon't Get Me Wrong by Marianne Kavanagh
Published by Atria/Emily Bestler Books on August 25th 2015
Genres: Chick Lit, Fiction
Pages: 336
Format: eARC
Source: Publisher
Buy on AmazonBarnes & NobleThe Book Depository
Goodreads

For fans of Jojo Moyes, David Nicholls, and Sophie Kinsella, here is a Pride and Prejudice for the modern era: Londoners Kim and Harry can’t see eye to eye...until the life of the person they both love most hangs in the balance.
Kim and Harry are total opposites who happen to have the same favorite people in the world: Kim’s older sister, Eva, and her young son, Otis. Kim has never seen what her free-spirited big sister sees in a stuck-up banker like Harry and has spent her childhood trying to keep him out (must he always drive the most ostentatious cars and insist on charming everyone he meets?), while Harry’s favorite occupation is provoking Kim.
Both Harry and Kim are too stuck in their prejudices to care about what’s really going on beneath the surface of each other’s lives. They’ll never understand each other—until the worst of all tragedy strikes. Faced with the possibilities of losing the person they both love most, long-buried secrets come to a head in ways that will change both Harry and Kim forever.
As in her “hilarious, poignant, and profound” (Daily Mail) novel For Once in My Life, Marianne Kavanagh tackles the bonds of family, friendship, and love through sophisticated storytelling. Don’t Get Me Wrong is a witty and heartwarming book that will charm readers everywhere.

Review

This book was meh for me.  I thought that I would love it, but I couldn’t get past my dislike of Kim.

Strong Points

  • The beginning starts at the end.  We get to see how the characters get to that point.
  • The trainwreck that is family drama.  We all have that, maybe not to that extent, but it’s still there.
  • Kim’s friends were without a doubt loyal.  I love strong friendships in books.
  • The ending.  Can’t say why I liked it because it would be spoilery.

What Lost Me

  • I couldn’t stand Kim, and didn’t care for Harry most of the time.
  • The decisions Kim made.  It was like stupid choice on top of stupid choice.
  • Kim constantly blowing up at Harry for no reason.  It was borderline ridiculous most of the time.
  • The emphasis put on certain issues.  I think less is more would have been better for this.  I felt like I was being berated by Kim.

So basically my problem was Kim, and I almost stopped reading it because of this.  But some of the relationships, and just having to know what happened kept me reading.

 

Receive Updates

No spam guarantee.

Reading this book contributed to these challenges:

Katrina @ Bookish Things

About Katrina @ Bookish Things

I'm a mom of two and love to read, listen to music, and rock out at concerts. Sometimes you can find me reading, or writing, in between sets at concerts. I read many genres, and have a TBR mountain.

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge