Review: Breaking the Ice by Julie Cross

Posted December 20, 2017 by Katrina @ Bookish Things in Book Review / 1 Comment

I received this book for free from Publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Review: Breaking the Ice by Julie CrossBreaking the Ice by Julie Cross
Series: Juniper Falls
on December 26th 2017
Genres: Contemporary, Romance, Young Adult
Pages: 300
Format: eARC
Source: Publisher
Buy on AmazonBarnes & NobleThe Book Depository

Series Rating:
Also in this series: Off the Ice
Also by this author: Whatever Life Throws at You, Halfway Perfect

The second book in the Juniper Falls series from NY Times and USA TODAY bestselling author Julie Cross, perfect for fans of Miranda Kenneally and Abbi Glines.

Haley Stevenson seems like she’s got it all together: cheer captain, “Princess” of Juniper Falls, and voted Most Likely to Get Things Done. But below the surface, she’s struggling with a less-than-stellar GPA and still reeling from the loss of her first love. Repeating her Civics class during summer school is her chance to Get Things Done, not angst over boys. In fact, she’s sworn them off completely until college.

Fletcher Scott is happy to keep a low profile around Juniper Falls. He’s always been the invisible guy, warming the bench on the hockey team and moonlighting at a job that would make his grandma blush. Suddenly, though, he’s finding he wants more: more time on the ice, and more time with his infuriatingly perfect summer-school study partner.

But leave it to a girl who requires perfection to shake up a boy who’s ready to break all the rules.


I loved the first book in the series, and I was so happy when I saw there was another book. I adored Haley and Flether.

Haley, who we met in Off the Ice, is taking a summer school class. She has a goal to pass the class with as high a grade as she can so that her GPA will be good enough for college. She knows the only way she’s going to accomplish that is get a study partner that knows what they are doing. That’s where Fletcher comes in.

Fletcher sticks to himself. He doesn’t have any friends outside of his cousin and prefers it that way. Until Haley starts to get under his skin. She’s popular and a socialite, everything he wants no part of.

I loved seeing these two interact. Neigther of them is looking for a relationship, but yet they can’t deny they feel something for each other. I love that this book shows all the confusing and contradictory emotions teens feel. It makes everything more real.

I will say that I hope there are more books in this series. There are a few characters I need to know more about.

Receive Updates

No spam guarantee.

Reading this book contributed to these challenges:

Katrina @ Bookish Things

About Katrina @ Bookish Things

I'm a mom of two and love to read, listen to music, and rock out at concerts. Sometimes you can find me reading, or writing, in between sets at concerts. I read many genres, and have a TBR mountain.

One response to “Review: Breaking the Ice by Julie Cross

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge