Review: Caught by the Scot by Karen Hawkins

Posted October 9, 2017 by Katrina @ Bookish Things in Book Review / 0 Comments

I received this book for free from Publisher, XOXperts in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

This book may be unsuitable for people under 17 years of age due to its use of sexual content, drug and alcohol use, and/or violence.
Review: Caught by the Scot by Karen HawkinsCaught by the Scot by Karen Hawkins
Series: Made to Marry
Published by Headline Eternal on September 26th 2017
Genres: Historical, Romance
Pages: 384
Format: Paperback
Source: Publisher, XOXperts
Buy on AmazonBarnes & NobleThe Book Depository
Goodreads

Series Rating:

Caught by the Scot is a fabulously witty and irresistibly sexy Scottish historical romance from New York Times bestseller Karen Hawkins. Fans of Julia Quinn, Monica McCarty and Julie Garwood will be won over by the spellbinding Made to Marry series.

When the dark Duke of Hamilton loses his beloved wife, he heeds her dying wish that he make certain her three brothers marry well for she fears they are all headed to ruin. Heartsick, the Duke approaches the task with a heavy hand, ordering the three brothers to marry within three months or forego their inheritance.

The middle brother, the dashing Conner Douglas, is not about to give up his independence, but he knows marriage doesn't always mean one must change, does it? If anything, being married to a pliable sort of female would give him even more opportunity to seduce the married women of the ton. So he heads straight for the most pliable female he knows - a childhood acquaintance and now mousy spinster, the English born and bred Miss Theodora Cumberbatch-Snowe.

Conner is so certain Theodora will joyously agree to marry him, that he takes his time traveling to her house and has only one month to secure her hand and marry. Yet when he arrives at her parents' house he discovers that Theodora has just run away with a local landowner—a farmer, no less! Unknown to Conner, Theodora has been wildly, passionately in love with him for years. But she's accepted that he sees her only as a friend. Unable to sit forever in her parents' front parlor and wait for what will never happen, Theodora decided to marry someone comfortable in the hopes they might at least become good partners.

Unaware of Theodora's feelings, Conner isn't about to let 'the perfect wife' get away so easily. But as Conner seduces Theodora, his own feelings stir. And after surviving a trip of mishaps and traps, he discovers that he can't image her marrying anyone but him.

5 reasons to read Caught by the Scot

  • There are two awesome tropes: friends to lovers, and brother’s best friend. YASSS!
  • I loved the banter between Connor and Thea.
  • Trying win the heart of a person that is set to marry another person.
  • Connor’s crew. They are fun, and do what he asks, but also give their own opinions on how he should handle things.
  • Thea… she is by far my favorite character. She’s stubborn and isn’t afraid to speak her mind.

Caught by the Scot was my first dip into historical romance in a long time. I really enjoyed this book, and I can’t wait to read about the rest of the Douglas brothers.

Receive Updates

No spam guarantee.

Reading this book contributed to these challenges:

Katrina @ Bookish Things

About Katrina @ Bookish Things

I'm a mom of two and love to read, listen to music, and rock out at concerts. Sometimes you can find me reading, or writing, in between sets at concerts. I read many genres, and have a TBR mountain.

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge