Review: By Your Side by Kasie West

Posted July 17, 2017 by Laura Mauro in Book Review / 0 Comments

Review: By Your Side by Kasie WestBy Your Side by Kasie West
Published by HarperTeen on 1/31/2017
Genres: Contemporary, Romance, Young Adult
Pages: 346
Format: Hardcover
Source: Own
Buy on AmazonBarnes & NobleThe Book Depository
Goodreads

In this irresistible story, Kasie West explores the timeless question of what to do when you fall for the person you least expect. Witty and romantic, this paperback original from a fan favorite is perfect for fans of Stephanie Perkins and Morgan Matson.

When Autumn Collins finds herself accidentally locked in the library for an entire weekend, she doesn’t think things could get any worse. But that’s before she realizes that Dax Miller is locked in with her. Autumn doesn’t know much about Dax except that he’s trouble. Between the rumors about the fight he was in (and that brief stint in juvie that followed it) and his reputation as a loner, he’s not exactly the ideal person to be stuck with. Still, she just keeps reminding herself that it is only a matter of time before Jeff, her almost-boyfriend, realizes he left her in the library and comes to rescue her.

Only he doesn’t come. No one does.

Instead it becomes clear that Autumn is going to have to spend the next couple of days living off vending-machine food and making conversation with a boy who clearly wants nothing to do with her. Except there is more to Dax than meets the eye. As he and Autumn first grudgingly, and then not so grudgingly, open up to each other, Autumn is struck by their surprising connection. But can their feelings for each other survive once the weekend is over and Autumn’s old life, and old love interest, threaten to pull her from Dax’s side?

Review

I DID BOTH MY thoughts and top 5 five reasons to read this book so you choose which one you like!

This book was a lovely surprise. I loved how the book moved out of the lib. setting earlier then I expected. I really did love both the main characters and their slow burn romance was very easy to fall in love with. I also loved how the author included the topic of anxiety in the story. I felt to me as somebody that can be prone to anxiety a decent representation. I also really thought the story depicted high school in a “normal” way and I was impressed by that. The book was a very quick read and dealt with self-discovery for many of the characters but especially the two leads.

5 reasons to read By Your Side

  • The characters are adorable and I loved meeting them!
  • The presence and use of mental illness and the the impact it had on the characters lives!
  • A book lovers dream of getting lock in library is explored!
  • A fast pace swoon worthy romance!
  • A bad boy and a good girl on a path to self discovery!

Receive Updates

No spam guarantee.

About Laura Mauro

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge