Review: Shuffle, Repeat by Jen Klein

Posted September 9, 2016 by Katrina @ Bookish Things in Book Review / 0 Comments

I received this book for free from Publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Review: Shuffle, Repeat by Jen KleinShuffle, Repeat by Jen Klein
Published by Random House Books for Young Readers on May 3rd 2016
Pages: 327
Format: Hardcover
Source: Publisher
Buy on AmazonBarnes & NobleThe Book Depository
Goodreads

When Harry Met Sally for YA romance readers. This opposites-attract love story is perfect for fans of Huntley Fitzpatrick, Stephanie Perkins, and Jenny Han.  June wants high school to end and real life to begin. Oliver is soaking up senior year’s glory days. They could have coasted through high school, knowing about—but not really knowing—each other.   Except that their moms have arranged for Oliver to drive June to school. Every. Single. Day.   Suddenly these two opposites are fighting about music, life . . . pretty much everything. But love is unpredictable. When promises—and hearts—get broken, Oliver and June must figure out what really matters. And then fight for it.


This book is so much fun. I loved every minute of it, and couldn’t put it down.

June and Oliver are everything! They have an awkward friendship, but I loved it. They don’t really know how to act around each other, especially when feelings develop.  Each person is going through their own drama and relationship problem, but I think that shows how teens really feel, and I appreciated that.

I also loved that they make a challenge out of finding the epicness of high school versus life after high school.  And that challenge means they get to add music to a playlist to listen to on the way to school.  Freaking genius! I knew most of the ones Oliver chose, but June’s choices stumped me. I now have new to me music to check out.

We also get snippets that lead up to prom.  There’s nothing quick about this friendship. It evolves over the course of a year, and I loved that it took so much time.  It really gave June and Oliver a chance to get to know each other on a deeper level.

All in all, I loved the heck out of this book, and will be recommending to readers of all ages.


Receive Updates

No spam guarantee.

Katrina @ Bookish Things

About Katrina @ Bookish Things

I’m a mom of two and love to read, listen to music, and rock out at concerts. Sometimes you can find me reading, or writing, in between sets at concerts. I read many genres, and have a TBR mountain.

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge