Review: A Court of Thorns & Roses

Posted August 4, 2016 by Katrina @ Bookish Things in Book Review / 0 Comments

This book may be unsuitable for people under 17 years of age due to its use of sexual content, drug and alcohol use, and/or violence.
Review: A Court of Thorns & RosesA Court of Thorns and Roses (A Court of Thorns and Roses, #1) by Sarah J. Maas
Series: A Court of Thorns and Roses
on May 5th 2015
Pages: 416
Format: Audiobook
Source: Own
Buy on AmazonBarnes & NobleThe Book Depository
Goodreads

Series Rating:
Also in this series: A Court of Mist and Fury (A Court of Thorns and Roses, #2)
Also by this author: Throne of Glass, Crown of Midnight

A thrilling, seductive new series from New York Times bestselling author Sarah J. Maas, blending Beauty and the Beast with faerie lore.
When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature arrives to demand retribution for it. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she only knows about from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal, but Tamlin—one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled their world.
As she dwells on his estate, her feelings for Tamlin transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion that burns through every lie and warning she's been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But an ancient, wicked shadow over the faerie lands is growing, and Feyre must find a way to stop it . . . or doom Tamlin—and his world—forever.
Perfect for fans of Kristin Cashore and George R. R. Martin, this first book in a sexy and action-packed new series is impossible to put down!


I can’t even explain how much I loved this book. Maybe even more than Throne of Glass…. maybe.
I love Feyre.  Maas does a fantastic job of creating female characters that are strong, independent, and full of fire. Even when Feyre is tossed into a world she doesn’t understand she doesn’t back down.  She challenges Tamlin and Lucien every chance she gets.
I know so many people love Tamlin, but Rhysand is phenomenal.  I loved seeing how he played his role in the events that happen in the second half of the book.  He can be a jerk, but you can tell he has a heart somewhere in all that darkness.
This will be a favorite for a while.  I can’t wait to read A Court of Mist and Fury.

Receive Updates

No spam guarantee.

Reading this book contributed to these challenges:

Katrina @ Bookish Things

About Katrina @ Bookish Things

I’m a mom of two and love to read, listen to music, and rock out at concerts. Sometimes you can find me reading, or writing, in between sets at concerts. I read many genres, and have a TBR mountain.

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge