Review: Burning Midnight by Will McIntosh

Posted February 3, 2016 by Katrina @ Bookish Things in Book Review / 0 Comments

I received this book for free from in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Review: Burning Midnight by Will McIntoshBurning Midnight by Will McIntosh
Published by Random House Children's Books on February 2nd 2016
Genres: Young Adult, Science Fiction, Action & Adventure
Pages: 320
Format: eARC
Buy on AmazonBarnes & NobleThe Book Depository
Goodreads

For fans of The Maze Runner and The Fifth Wave, this debut YA novel from Hugo Award winner Will McIntosh pits four underprivileged teens against an evil billionaire in the race of a lifetime.   Sully is a sphere dealer at a flea market. It doesn’t pay much—Alex Holliday’s stores have muscled out most of the independent sellers—but it helps him and his mom make the rent. No one knows where the brilliant-colored spheres came from. One day they were just there, hidden all over the earth like huge gemstones. Burn a pair and they make you a little better: an inch taller, skilled at math, better-looking. The rarer the sphere, the greater the improvement—and the more expensive the sphere.
When Sully meets Hunter, a girl with a natural talent for finding spheres, the two start searching together. One day they find a Gold—a color no one has ever seen. And when Alex Holliday learns what they have, he will go to any lengths, will use all of his wealth and power, to take it from them. There’s no question the Gold is priceless, but what does it actually do? None of them is aware of it yet, but the fate of the world rests on this little golden orb. Because all the world fights over the spheres, but no one knows where they come from, what their powers are, or why they’re here.

Review

I really enjoyed the world that Burning Midnight brought out.  It’s still pretty much set in our world, but with a few things extra. Namely colored spheres that provide those that burn them enhanced abilities.

There’s action, and constantly trying to find the rarest of spheres in order to help both Sully and Hunter’s living situation.  Both have things that they are going through and want to better their circumstances.  While there is some romance, the book focuses a lot on friendships.  And I love that aspect of it.  You don’t know who you can trust, and you can’t.  The search takes this group of kids through some pretty dangerous circumstances.

I liked the elements of the story, and the story itself.  I can’t say much because it would be a spoiler.  But there is action, adventure, and mystery.  Nobody knows where the spheres come from or why they enhance abilities. But the journey to finding out is intense at times.

If you like science fiction, or mysteries, this is definitely a book to pick up. Sorry I can’t be more specific, but ya know, spoilers.



Receive Updates

No spam guarantee.

Reading this book contributed to these challenges:

Katrina @ Bookish Things

About Katrina @ Bookish Things

I'm a mom of two and love to read, listen to music, and rock out at concerts. Sometimes you can find me reading, or writing, in between sets at concerts. I read many genres, and have a TBR mountain.

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge