Blog Tour: The Widow by Fiona Barton

Posted February 27, 2016 by Katrina @ Bookish Things in Blog Tour, Book Review / 0 Comments

I received this book for free from Publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

This book may be unsuitable for people under 17 years of age due to its use of sexual content, drug and alcohol use, and/or violence.
Blog Tour: The Widow by Fiona BartonThe Widow by Fiona Barton
Published by Penguin on February 16th 2016
Genres: Fiction, Thrillers, Suspense, Crime
Pages: 368
Format: eARC
Source: Publisher
Buy on AmazonBarnes & NobleThe Book Depository
Goodreads

THE #1 INTERNATIONAL BESTSELLER
For fans of Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train, an electrifying thriller that will take you into the dark spaces that exist between a husband and a wife.

When the police started asking questions, Jean Taylor turned into a different woman. One who enabled her and her husband to carry on, when more bad things began to happen...   But that woman’s husband died last week. And Jean doesn’t have to be her anymore.   There’s a lot Jean hasn’t said over the years about the crime her husband was suspected of committing. She was too busy being the perfect wife, standing by her man while living with the accusing glares and the anonymous harassment.   Now there’s no reason to stay quiet. There are people who want to hear her story. They want to know what it was like living with that man. She can tell them that there were secrets. There always are in a marriage.   The truth—that’s all anyone wants. But the one lesson Jean has learned in the last few years is that she can make people believe anything…
From the Hardcover edition.

Review

I’m not going to lie. I had a hard time reading this book.  And, no, not because it was a bad book. But because it is a book that will have parents hugging their children extra hard, and questioning everything.

 

I really enjoyed the way the story is told, and the characters.  You felt like you were in the heads, and could feel what they felt.  There are also multiple perspectives in different time lines.  It puts you in pivotal moments and some that you would rather escape.

 

Jean is a very complex character.  You know she’s hiding something, but you don’t know what.  And I hated the way her husband belittled her.  He treated her like a child.
Like I said before, this book isn’t for the faint of heart.  It had me up at night after reading, and hoping I would never go through what some of these characters have gone through. It’s amazing how much a story can take over your thoughts, and make you feel a million different emotions at once.


Katrina

Receive Updates

No spam guarantee.

Reading this book contributed to these challenges:

Katrina @ Bookish Things

About Katrina @ Bookish Things

I’m a mom of two and love to read, listen to music, and rock out at concerts. Sometimes you can find me reading, or writing, in between sets at concerts. I read many genres, and have a TBR mountain.

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge