Review: A Million Miles Away by Lara Avery

Posted July 3, 2015 by Katrina @ Bookish Things in Book Review / 0 Comments

I received this book for free from Publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Review: A Million Miles Away by Lara AveryA Million Miles Away by Lara Avery
Published by Poppy on July 7th 2015
Genres: Contemporary, Realistic Fiction, Romance, Young Adult
Pages: 320
Format: ARC
Source: Publisher
Buy on AmazonBarnes & NobleThe Book Depository
Goodreads

Perfect for fans of Nicholas Sparks, this breathtaking story of love and loss is guaranteed to break your heart and sweep you off your feet.When high school senior Kelsey's identical twin sister, Michelle, dies in a car crash, Kelsey is left without her other half. The only person who doesn't know about the tragedy is Michelle's boyfriend, Peter, recently deployed to Afghanistan. But when Kelsey finally connects with Peter online, she can't bear to tell him the truth. Active duty has taken its toll, and Peter, thinking that Kelsey is Michelle, says that seeing her is the one thing keeping him alive. Caught up in the moment, Kelsey has no choice: She lets Peter believe that she is her sister.As Kelsey keeps up the act, she crosses the line from pretend to real. Soon, Kelsey can't deny that she's falling, hard, for the one boy she shouldn't want.

Review

This book has left me without the ability to express how much I enjoyed this book.  So below I’m just going to list a few of the things that I loved.

  • The plot is unlike anything I’ve read before.
    • Kelsey doesn’t tell Peter that her sister died. And doesn’t correct him when he thinks she is Michelle.
  • Kelsey learns so much about herself while dealing with the grief of losing her twin sister.
  • Kelsey tries things she hasn’t before and learns to see things the way Michelle did.
  • The bonds of friendship are tested because Kelsey’s friends don’t know who to pull her out from her despair.
  • I loved the fun times in this book. While you don’t think there would be any with Peter deployed and Kelsey struggling, they manage to bring the best out of each other.
  • The writing was amazing.  I felt all the emotions Kelsey was having and empathized with her.

Those are just some things that made this book awesome for me.  A Million Miles away will break your heart, and mend it along the way.

Receive Updates

No spam guarantee.

Katrina @ Bookish Things

About Katrina @ Bookish Things

I'm a mom of two and love to read, listen to music, and rock out at concerts. Sometimes you can find me reading, or writing, in between sets at concerts. I read many genres, and have a TBR mountain.

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge