Blog Tour: Secrets of Attraction by Robin Constantine

Posted April 22, 2015 by Katrina @ Bookish Things in Blog Tour, Book Review / 0 Comments

I received this book for free from Publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Blog Tour: Secrets of Attraction by Robin ConstantineThe Secrets of Attraction by Robin Constantine
Published by HarperCollins on April 28th 2015
Genres: Emotions & Feelings, Friendship, Love & Romance, Social Issues, Young Adult
Pages: 384
Format: eARC
Source: Publisher
Buy on AmazonBarnes & NobleThe Book Depository
Goodreads

Also by this author: The Promise of Amazing

Set in the same world as The Promise of Amazing, this smart, surprising, and romantic follow-up to Robin Constantine's debut novel follows two New Jersey teens as they become friends and fall in love. Perfect for fans of Stephanie Perkins, Sarah Mlynowski, and Jennifer E. Smith.Madison Pryce thinks she's got everything figured out—she's working on a portfolio for a summer art program and hanging with her friends. Plus she has her hot boyfriend, Zach. But then a visit from a family friend turns Maddie's life upside down.Jesse McMann is still reeling from a breakup that shattered his heart and his band. Then pride (and some goading from his bass player and fellow barista) forces him to find a new drummer—and the inspiration to write music again.Kismet arrives in the unlikely form of Grayson Barrett, who tries out for Jesse's band, and whose girlfriend is BFFs with the cute girl who orders a chai latte after yoga every Thursday: Maddie. What Jesse and Maddie thought they knew about the secrets of attraction and the rules of romance changes once they start falling for each other.

Review

Secrets of Attraction is the perfect book to gear you up for summer.  There’s music, coffee, cute boys, and amazing friends.  What more could a reader ask for while waiting for beach weather???

I loved Madison.  She’s so sure of herself and has a confidence most teen girls don’t have.  She does have a tendency to keep guys at a distance.  She sees everything as having fun, and doesn’t want to get hurt.  She’s just an all around fun character, and learns a lot about herself through the progression of the book.  Jesse is adorable.  He’s recovering from a break up that ripped him apart.  He still clings to the past and doesn’t want to move forward until he notices the “Thursday girls” who stop by the coffee shop he works at every week.  Being around Madison helps him heal, and makes him want to make music again.

While I loved the romance in this book, I couldn’t have asked for a better book that also features friendship.  Madison and Jesse both have a set of friends that would do anything for them, and want what is best for them.  Tanner is probably my favorite side character.  He isn’t afraid to call Jesse on his b.s.  I also liked the relationship both characters have with their parents.  Even though Madison has to go through some things in her family life, her mom is always there for her.

I’ve never been to a battle of the bands, but this definitely pulled me into those scenes.  I adored this book, and hoping we get something on Jazz, Madison & Wren’s friend.

 

About Robin Constantine

Robin Constantine is a born and bred Jersey girl who moved down South so she could wear flip-flops year round. She spends her days dreaming up stories where love conquers all, well, eventually but not without a lot of peril, angst and the occasional kissing scene.

Her YA debut, THE PROMISE OF AMAZING, will be released in 2014 by Balzer + Bray, an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers.

Receive Updates

No spam guarantee.

Reading this book contributed to these challenges:

Katrina @ Bookish Things

About Katrina @ Bookish Things

I'm a mom of two and love to read, listen to music, and rock out at concerts. Sometimes you can find me reading, or writing, in between sets at concerts. I read many genres, and have a TBR mountain.

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge