Review: Pretty Crooked & Pretty Sly by Elisa Ludwig

Posted March 7, 2015 by Katrina @ Bookish Things in Book Review / 0 Comments

Review: Pretty Crooked & Pretty Sly by Elisa LudwigPretty Crooked & Pretty Sly by Elisa Ludwig
Published by HarperCollins on March 13th 2012
Genres: Action & Adventure, Adolescence, Friendship, Law & Crime, Love & Romance, School & Education, Social Issues, Values & Virtues, Young Adult
Pages: 368
Source: Own
Buy on AmazonBarnes & NobleThe Book Depository
Goodreads
Also by this author: Pretty Wanted, Coin Heist

Pretty Crooked

Willa's secret plan seems all too simple. Take from the rich kids at valley prep and give to the poor ones. Yet Willa's turn as Robin Hood at her new high school is anything but. Bilking her "friends"—known to everyone as the Glitterati—without them suspecting a thing is far from easy. Learning how to break into lockers and Beemers is as hard as she'd thought it would be. Delivering care packages to the scholarship girls, who are bullied just for being different, is more fun than she'd expected. The complication Willa didn't expect, though, is Aidan Murphy, VP's most notorious ace-degenerate. His mere existence is distracting Willa from what matters most to her—evening the social playing field between the haves and have-nots. There's no time for flirting, especially with conceited trust-funders like Aidan. But when the cops start investigating the string of thefts at Valley Prep and the Glitterati begin to seek revenge, could Aidan wind up being the person that Willa trusts most? Elisa Ludwig's Pretty Crooked is the first book in an adventurous teen caper series filled with mystery, humor, and heart.



Pretty Sly

Willa Fox was told to stay out of trouble. In fact, it was an order from a very serious juvenile court judge.

However, that was before Willa found her house ransacked and a mysterious email from her mother telling Willa she had to leave Paradise Valley for a while and not to come looking for her. Willa knows her mom’s in danger and that no one at school will miss her after her recent sticky-fingered stunts with the Glitterati. So with the help of her pal Tre and with her degenerate crush Aidan as her wingman, Willa violates her probation and hits the California highway in search of her mom.

But when Willa and Aidan’s journey turns dangerously criminal and they wind up being the focus of a national manhunt, they realize it’s sometimes easier to escape the law than the truth—and that everything Willa thought she knew about her mom, and her life, was wrong.

Pretty Sly is Elisa Ludwig’s fast-paced sequel to Pretty Crooked, the second book in a trilogy that’s pitch-perfect for fans of Ally Carter. With a daring heroine who has one-of-a-kind spunk, a roller-coaster Bonnie and Clyde romance, a thrilling mystery, and a shocking twist ending, this book will have readers rooting for Willa as she makes the wrong choices to do the right thing. Fans will be eagerly awaiting the series conclusion

Instead of doing two separate posts I decided to do mini reviews in one post. I’m reading Pretty Wanted now, and can’t wait to see how this ends.

Pretty Crooked

Pretty Crooked has a very Mean Girls vibe to it.  And I think it worked out great.  Willa is new to this private school, and sees how those that are on scholarship are treated by her friends.  She can’t take it anymore and decides to help those in need by stealing from her “friends.”  She’s actually pretty good at it…. until she’s not.  There’s also a little romance, and I’m happy that isn’t the main focus of this book.  It’s kind of a side story.  I think what I like the most was the dynamic between Willa and her friends, and what she should stand up for.  The relationship with her mom is also pretty interesting.  This was a fun and fast read.   The ending will leave you needing to know what happens next.

 

 

Pretty Sly

We don’t have the setting of the Prep school in the sequel.  But we do get to travel to a few cities.  Willa leaves to find her mom, and nothing is going to stop her.  This one deals a little more with her relationship with Aidan.  So there’s a bit more romance, but it doesn’t overtake the story.  Willa is mostly trying to figure out who she can trust while trying to find her mother.  There are shocking revelations, and a few funny situations in this book.  I don’t see how this girl gets into the messes she does.  She is trying to dodge the cops left and right, and another threat looms ahead.  Pretty Sly is another fast read, and naturally a cliffhanger to keep you wanting to find answers.



 

About Elisa Ludwig

My debut young adult novel PRETTY CROOKED (Katherine Tegen/HarperCollins) was released in March 2012, and the sequel, PRETTY SLY, is out in March 2014. COIN HEIST, a YA thriller, is out in June 2014 (Adaptive Studios). I live in Philadelphia with my husband and son.

Visit me on Twitter, Facebook, and my website.

Receive Updates

No spam guarantee.

Katrina @ Bookish Things

About Katrina @ Bookish Things

I'm a mom of two and love to read, listen to music, and rock out at concerts. Sometimes you can find me reading, or writing, in between sets at concerts. I read many genres, and have a TBR mountain.

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge