Review: The Winter People by Rebekah Purdy

Posted September 2, 2014 by Katrina @ Bookish Things in Book Review / 0 Comments

I received this book for free from Publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Review: The Winter People by Rebekah PurdyThe Winter People by Rebekah Purdy
Published by Entangled Teen on 9/2/2014
Genres: Fairy Tales & Folklore, Fantasy & Magic, Romance, Young Adult
Pages: 320
Format: eARC
Source: Publisher
Buy on AmazonBarnes & NobleThe Book Depository
Goodreads

An engrossing, complex, romantic fantasy perfect for fans of Kristin Cashore or Maggie Stiefvater, set in a wholly unique world.

Salome Montgomery fears winter—the cold, the snow, the ice, but most of all, the frozen pond she fell through as a child. Haunted by the voices and images of the strange beings that pulled her to safety, she hasn't forgotten their warning to "stay away." For eleven years, she has avoided the winter woods, the pond, and the darkness that lurks nearby. But when failing health takes her grandparents to Arizona, she is left in charge of maintaining their estate. This includes the "special gifts" that must be left at the back of the property.

Salome discovers she’s a key player in a world she’s tried for years to avoid. At the center of this world is the strange and beautiful Nevin, who she finds trespassing on her family’s property. Cursed with dark secrets and knowledge of the creatures in the woods, his interactions with Salome take her life in a new direction. A direction where she'll have to decide between her longtime crush Colton, who could cure her fear of winter. Or Nevin who, along with an appointed bodyguard, Gareth, protects her from the darkness that swirls in the snowy backdrop. An evil that, given the chance, will kill her.

Review

The Winter People hooked me from the very beginning.

I really enjoyed the characters.  I love Salome.  She proves just how strong she is by trying to face her fears.  She also wants to find out why all of this is happening.  She’s had a hard life after her accident in the pond, and is having to deal with the things that are happening now. I love Gareth. He’s completely genuine.  He truly wants what is best for Salome.  Nevin and Colton are definitely my least favorite.  They are arrogant, and need to be kicked in the pants for some of the things they say.

I will say that I knew what world Salome is dealing with after reading a couple of chapters. I just didn’t know who was who in that world for a little bit.  I really enjoyed finding things out with Salome, and seeing how she interacted with Nevin, Colton and Gareth.  I was kind of annoyed with how her grandmother and mom dealt with her.  But after finishing I understood why.  I do think that the circumstances that Salome was going through helped her relationship with her mother.  There are some awful things that keep happening to Salome, and she deals with them pretty well, I think.

Overall, I loved this world, the characters, and everything else with this book.  I’m trying not to give too much away so that I don’t ruin things for ya.  I definitely think this book was refreshing in its genre.

Receive Updates

No spam guarantee.

Katrina @ Bookish Things

About Katrina @ Bookish Things

I'm a mom of two and love to read, listen to music, and rock out at concerts. Sometimes you can find me reading, or writing, in between sets at concerts. I read many genres, and have a TBR mountain.

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge