Review: Uninvited by Sophie Jordan

Posted January 30, 2014 by Katrina @ Bookish Things in Book Review / 0 Comments

I received this book for free from Publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Review: Uninvited by Sophie JordanUninvited by Sophie Jordan
Series: Uninvited
Published by HarperCollins on 2014-01-28
Genres: Action & Adventure, Love & Romance, Science Fiction, Young Adult
Pages: 384
Format: eARC
Source: Publisher
Buy on AmazonBarnes & NobleThe Book Depository
Goodreads

Series Rating:
Also by this author: Foreplay, Tease

The Scarlet Letter meets Minority Report in bestselling author Sophie Jordan's chilling new novel about a teenage girl who is ostracized when her genetic test proves she's destined to become a murderer.

When Davy Hamilton's tests come back positive for Homicidal Tendency Syndrome (HTS)-aka the kill gene-she loses everything. Her boyfriend ditches her, her parents are scared of her, and she can forget about her bright future at Juilliard. Davy doesn't feel any different, but genes don't lie. One day she will kill someone.

Only Sean, a fellow HTS carrier, can relate to her new life. Davy wants to trust him; maybe he's not as dangerous as he seems. Or maybe Davy is just as deadly.

The first in a two-book series, Uninvited tackles intriguing questions about free will, identity, and human nature. Steeped in New York Times bestselling author Sophie Jordan's trademark mix of gripping action and breathless romance, this suspenseful tale is perfect for fans of James Patterson, Michelle Hodkin, and Lisa McMann.

Review
 
I absolutely loved Uninvited. If it wasn’t for the fact that I had to work the next day I would have pulled an all-nighter.

The world that Jordan creates is intense. I know I wouldn’t like to be judged based on a DNA test. But that’s what happens, and the people that have HTC are treated like they have the plague. Davy has a hard time getting situated with her new life, and the ugliness it can involve.

I love Davy’s character. She’s smart, talented, and does not want to believe she’s capable of being a killer. She is so strong for having to deal with pretty much everything on her own. She also learns not to judge others, especially since she’s feeling the force of that.

There were some scenes that had me cringing, and hoping for another outcome. All in all, this is a fast paced read. I can’t wait for the next book to come out. Too bad that’s a year away!
 
Katrina Sig

Receive Updates

No spam guarantee.

Katrina @ Bookish Things

About Katrina @ Bookish Things

I'm a mom of two and love to read, listen to music, and rock out at concerts. Sometimes you can find me reading, or writing, in between sets at concerts. I read many genres, and have a TBR mountain.

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge