Review: The Dark Between by Sonia Gensler

Posted September 16, 2013 by Katrina @ Bookish Things in Book Review / 0 Comments

I received this book for free from Publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Review: The Dark Between by Sonia GenslerThe Dark Between by Sonia Gensler
Published by Knopf Books for Young Readers on August 27, 2013
Genres: YA
Pages: 352
Format: ARC
Source: Publisher
Buy on AmazonBarnes & NobleThe Book Depository
Goodreads

A supernatural romance about the powers that lie in the shadows of the mind, perfect for fans of Sarah Rees Brennan, Alyxandra Harvey, and Libba Bray.

At the turn of the twentieth century, Spiritualism and séances are all the rage—even in the scholarly town of Cambridge, England. While mediums dupe the grief-stricken, a group of local fringe scientists seeks to bridge the gap to the spirit world by investigating the dark corners of the human mind.

Each running from a shadowed past, Kate, Asher, and Elsie take refuge within the walls of Summerfield College. But their peace is soon shattered by the discovery of a dead body nearby. Is this the work of a flesh-and-blood villain, or is something otherworldly at play? This unlikely trio must illuminate what the scientists have not, and open a window to secrets taken to the grave—or risk joining the spirit world themselves.

The Dark Between wasn’t what I was expecting.  The cover gave me the creeps, and I thought going in I’d get a great gothic horror.  Even though it wasn’t what I thought it was going to be, I enjoyed it.

We follow Kate, Elsie, and Asher through the streets of Cambridge.  Kate is my favorite character.  She doesn’t really care what others think of her.  Her downfall is she’s not very trusting.  She honestly has no reason to be, but I think it helps develop her into the strong young woman that she is.  She has no filter, and tends to say whatever is on her mind.  Kate tends to find trouble.  She’s inquisitive and isn’t ashamed of it.  Elsie is very much a girly character.  She has hopes of love and fairytale endings.  She also realizes that this may not be possible for her because of her secret condition.  Asher is a confused boy.  He’s reserved, but also goes on the whims of the girls in this group.

These three have found themselves in the middle of a mystery.  They don’t know exactly what they are looking for.  They just know they need to find the culprit behind the dead body that has been found.  Each of them are lucky to have found themselves at Summerfield.  They learn things about themselves that they otherwise would not have known.  While I was expecting a full out ghost story, I’m not disappointed with the mystery.  There are paranormal touches, and they come about in shocking realizations.

The ending was sort of a cliffhanger, and it made me want to know what happens next.  I will be watching for more of Gensler’s work because I love the way she’s able to set the scene for events to come.  She also has the ability to completely shock the reader.  Just when you think you know what’s going on, she turns the tables on you.

Receive Updates

No spam guarantee.

Katrina @ Bookish Things

About Katrina @ Bookish Things

I'm a mom of two and love to read, listen to music, and rock out at concerts. Sometimes you can find me reading, or writing, in between sets at concerts. I read many genres, and have a TBR mountain.

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge